Eventful Morning to Morning

Just like Goldie Locks I was peacefully eating my porridge and studying Anatomy.  With a spoon rising to my mouth, a giant pair of wings started beating against my leg.  This is at 4:30am, and I just scream because it is THEE BIGGEST BUG FLYING CREATURE!!! My porridge slops down the window, and I run away to nowhere because my sympathetic nervous system decided to freeze instead of fight or flight.  After settling down a little bit, I start making note cards at the table.  Now, my dinner table has a glass top.  Lone behold, I decide to take a drink of coffee and a MOUSE RUNS UNDER THE TABLE OVER MY FEET!!!!! I scream some words to be cleansed at 4:55am in the morning, fling my coffee contents across the room and develop goosebumps. Got goosebumps again just writing about it.

IMG_2889

Anatomy Lab can be pretty lively even though you’re working with dead people.  Our professor was dissecting the vas deferens on the male cadaver; he asked everyone to feel it.  In a totally professional manner, our professor explained how the male students in the class could palpate this anatomical structure.  It was at this time…I had no filter…and I said, “There you go fellas, homework!”…My lab group started laughing, and our professor did not hear the joke, so he just looked at me perplexed “what did you say?”…while I put the surgical mask further up my face to dry tears.  (Google vas deferens if you are unsure where it is)

When I started to drive to school at age 16, I was the girl who chose to sleep instead of do makeup; I took this even further by getting out of the shower and going straight to school.  So I was kind of a redneck in the fact that I stuck my head outside of my Jeep window for a hair dryer.  And when Minnesota winter brought 5 degree January days, I went to class with icicle head. Here in the Caribbean, you stand outside in the 7:30am sun for 2 minutes and your hair has highlights, volume, dryness, and that model-fan look.

IMG_2886

Upper class-men here at the medical school like to party.  They organized a party on the neighboring island.  We got on the boats at 10:30pm and danced under tiki shacks on the very small island.  Turns out, one of my classmates is a fabulous ballroom dancer from Canada, so we did Rumba, Salsa, Swing and Jive…Finally some Dancing (I hope it is just coincidental that lightning strikes occurred the first night I got to dance)!!!!!!!!

IMG_2895IMG_2896 IMG_2897

Leave a Reply

